Featured
Posted in The Spying Moon

The Spying Moon

My new book, The Spying Moon, will be released fall 2018 from Down & Out Books.

cover-ruttan-spying-moon-5

When a popular local teenager is found dead, Constable Kendall Moreau must put aside her personal agenda and her disappointment to solve the teen’s murder. Shunned by her team and trapped in a town she doesn’t want to be in, Moreau is hindered by prejudice and local politics in her search for answers. Can she discover the truth before another teenager dies?

Advertisements
Posted in The Spying Moon

Some High Praise for The Spying Moon

“There were also numerous plot twists and dramatic confrontations.   Ruttan is an experienced writer who knows how to build suspense.

“I look forward to reading future novels about the adventures of Kendall Moreau in the RCMP.  Perhaps she may investigate cases that involve First Nations individuals or communities.  Yet she could be dealing with numerous types of ethnicities that reflect the diversity of 21st century Canadian society.  I have confidence in Moreau’s ability to handle all the situations that might arise in the course of her career, and Ruttan’s ability to portray them.”

And what does The Masked Reviewer have to say about Moreau?

“In a more typical narrative centered on a character with this background, Moreau would have been studying with a medicine woman in order to get back to her roots.   This doesn’t happen in Spying Moon.  Although Moreau was disappointed not to be in a position where she can work on her mother’s very cold case,readers can expect her to be a professional who is focused on solving crimes.  She doesn’t allow any prejudice or harassment that she encounters to stop her from doing her job.  I found her admirable.”

The Spying Moon is currently available for pre-order and will be on sale September 17.

Posted in Short Fiction

Thumbs Up for Crossing Jordan & The Dame Was Trouble

Great review for The Dame Was Trouble, with a nice mention for Crossing Jordan, from C.S. O’Cinneide over at SheKillsLit.

“Crossing Jordan by Sandra Ruttan doesn’t feature murder or a shoot-out but does get us inside the head of a trans sex worker as she tries to unsuccessfully kill herself. But it’s not just A Man Called Ove done up in high heels. It is a story of persistence and strength in the face of misunderstanding, rejection, and violence. A story that will stick with me.”

I wrote this story for a member of my immediately family who is trans. It means a lot to me that people connect to it.

Posted in Short Fiction, Writing

I’m In Trouble

41z2bxvl1aklDelighted to share that my short story, “Crossing Jordan”, is part of The Dame Was Trouble.

“A collection of Canadian Crime Fiction from the best and brightest female crime writers that the Great White North has to offer. From noir to hardboiled, and thriller to cozy mystery, these Dames know how to tell tales to thrill, chill and KILL.
FEATURING NEW AND EXCITING TALES FROM:
Kelley Armstrong (#1 New York Timesbestselling author of Otherworld and the Nadia Stafford crime trilogy)
Elle Wild(Arthur Ellis Award-winning author of Strange Things Done)
Hermine Robinson (Anthology of New Canadian Noir)
Pat Flewwelling (Author of theHelix series)
Melodie Campbell (Derringer and Arthur Ellis Award-winning author of The Goddaughterseries and Rowena Through the Wall)
S.G. Wong (Arthur Ellis and Whistler Independent Book Award nominated author of the Lola Stark novels )
Gail Bowen(Canada’s “Queen of Crime”, author of the best-selling Joanne Kilbournmysteries)
Darusha Wehm (Author of Beautiful Redand The Home for Wayward Parrots)
R.M. Greenaway (Arthur Ellis Award-winning author of Cold Girland Undertow)
Natalie Vacha (In Places Between; finalist in the CBC Radio Cowboy Poetry contest)
Susan MacGregor (Aurora Award nominated author of The Tattooed Witch trilogy)
Alice Bienia (Arthur Ellis Award nominated author of Knight Blind)
Meghan Victoria (Antigonish Review)
M.H. Callway (Dagger, Arthur Ellis and Bony Pete Award nominated author of Windigo Fire)
Sandra Ruttan (Author of Harvest of Ruins, What Burns Within and Suspicious (Circumstances))
Jayne Barnard (BPAA, Aurora and Dagger Award nominee and Arthur Ellis Award-winning author of Maddie Hatter and the Deadly Diamond and When the Flood Falls)
Edited by Sarah L. Johnson
With Halli Lilburne
And Cat MacDonald”

Posted in Uncategorized

The Latest News

Coming September 17, 2018: The Spying Moon

cover-ruttan-spying-moon-4

The Spying Moon is a welcome, gritty addition to Canadian crime fiction. Ruttan is a thoughtful and original writer, and Kendall Moreau is a compelling detective in the vein of Jane Tennison and John Rebus.”

– Sam Wiebe, award-winning author of Cut You Down, Last of the Independents and Invisible Dead

(That amazing cover art is by JT Lindroos.)

 

 

cropped-author-banner-shorter.jpeg

Coming in 2018: My short story, Crossing Jordan, has been contracted to be included in The Dame Was Trouble anthology due out from Coffin Hop Press.

A collection of Canadian Crime fiction from the best female crime writers in Canada.
In celebration of 2018 as the Year of Publishing Women.
Edited by Sarah L. Johnson with Halli Lilburn and Cat McDonald